August 092020
 

Der Black Tot Tag kam und ging Ende Juli mit all den üblichen Artikeln und Rezensionen und fröhlichen Bildern von Menschen, die ihre Navy Rum Möchtegern trinken. Obwohl es in letzter Zeit populärer geworden ist (Eine Praxis, die Rum-Emporia mit Sicherheit gerne fördern), Ich neige dazu, nicht zu viel darauf zu achten, da die Marine mehrerer anderer Länder die Praxis an anderen Tagen und in anderen Jahren eingestellt hat, Für mich ist es nur ein weiteres Datum. Und sowieso, ernst, mache ich ja wirklich brauche eine Ausrede, um einen anderen Rum zu probieren? Kaum.

Jedoch, mit der jüngsten Veröffentlichung einer weiteren Tot-Variante (der 50th Anniversary Rum von der Whisky Exchange) zu ergänzen ständig wachsender Stall von Navy Rums vorgeben, die wahre Sache zu sein (oder die legitimen Erben von Real Thing) und all die aufgeregten Diskussionen und „Schau, was ich habe!”Beiträge in der Regel am Datum begleitet, Schauen wir uns Pussers Gunpowder Proof an, ein Update des älteren Blue Label Rums, auf eine höhere Stärke aufgebockt.

Tut mir leid zu wiederholen, was wahrscheinlich schon jetzt bekannt ist, aber die Vorgeschichte des Rums muss beachtet werden: der Name leitet sich von der (wahrscheinlich apokryphisch aber sehr interessant) Geschichte darüber, wie die Marine auf Alkohol getestet hat, indem sie überprüft hat, ob sie die Verbrennung einer Schießpulverprobe unterstützt: Die schwächste Stärke, die das tun würde, wurde angenommen 100 Beweis, und genauere Tests zeigten dies später 57.15% ABV. Jedoch, wie Matt Pietrek hat uns informiert, Echte Navy Rums wurden immer mit ein paar Grad weniger ausgegeben, und die wahre Stärke der Navy ist 54.5%. Was dieser Rum ist, daher der Untertitel von “Ursprüngliche Admiralitätsstärke”. Darüber hinaus, es gibt nicht viel weiter zu gehen (siehe unten).

Das vorausgesetzt, Lassen Sie uns gleich loslegen, Nase nach vorne. Es ist warm, aber undeutlich, was zu sagen ist,, Es ist eine Mischung aus mehreren Dingen — Melasse, kaffee (wie Diktator, in einer Weise,), flambierten Bananen, Crème Brûlée, Karamell, Getreide. Etwas brauner Zucker, und schöne Gewürze wie Zimt, Vanille- und Ingwerplätzchen. Auch ein bisschen Moschus und Salzlake, Gemüse und Obst beginnen schlecht zu werden, dunkel und nicht ganz unangenehm.

Die Mischung der Aromen, die ich roch, lässt sich nicht gut auf den Gaumen übertragen, leider, und schmecken gedämpft, sogar durcheinander. Es ist warm zu versuchen und hat Punkte – Melasse, brauner Zucker, Trüffel, Karamell, Toffee – aber sekundäre Komponenten (mit Wasser, sagen) sind eine andere Geschichte. Es ist mehr Karamell und brauner Zucker, Vanille und Nüsse — und scheint irgendwie zu dick, auf irgendeine Weise niedergedrückt, fast süßlich…sogar durcheinander gebracht. Sogar die subtilen Noten von Zitrusfrüchten, Bitterschokolade, Schwarzer Tee, Termine, und ein Bissen Eiche und Tannine am mittellangen hinteren Ende retten dies nicht vollständig, obwohl ich zugeben werde, dass es anständig genug ist, und einige zusätzliche schwache Andeutungen von Ingwer und Kreuzkümmel sind nicht halb so schlimm.

Das Problem ist, Ich weiß wirklich nicht, was dieses Ding wirklich ist. Ich habe gesagt, es ist nur das ältere Blue Label 42% stärker gemacht, und heutzutage ist der Großteil der Mischung angeblich guyanisch, mit dem Etikett, das es als „Produkt von Guyana“ beschreibt, Trinidad und Barbados “. Aber ich weiß nicht – beschreiben diese Verkostungsnotizen ein bisschen von jedem Versailles, Port Mourant- oder Enmore-Profil, das Sie in letzter Zeit hatten? Tatsächlich, es erinnert mich eher an eine stärkere DDL 12 oder 15 jahre alt, abzüglich der Lakritz- und Bleistiftschnitzel, oder ein anonymes WIRD / Angostura-Kombination . Weil sich die Mischung im Laufe der Zeit geändert hat und auf der Flasche kein Identifizierungsdatum angegeben ist, Es ist schwer zu wissen, was die Baugruppe ist, und für mich Papagei „Guyana, Trinidad und Barbados “ist kaum eine mit dem Pulitzer-Preis ausgezeichnete Forschung. Und, ärgerlich, Es gibt auch keine Altersangabe auf dem schwarzen Etikett, und überhaupt keine Destillationsinformationen — sogar Pussers eigene Website sagt dir nichts darüber. Ernst? Damit müssen wir uns zufrieden geben?

Hydrometer-Testergebnis mit freundlicher Genehmigung von TheFatRumPirate.com

Sowieso, Lassen Sie uns mit der Meinung abschließen, wie es präsentiert wird: Kurzfassung, Es ist ein guter Nuff Rum und du wirst ihn entweder in einer Mischung oder für sich alleine mögen. Ich war mehr oder weniger in Ordnung mit seiner unübersichtlichen Geschmacksvielfalt, und die Kraft funktionierte gut. Immer Noch, Ich fand es seltsam trocken, manchmal sogar dünn (für all den süßen und dicken Hintergrund), und angesichts der Tatsache, dass Wes es mit 7 g / l von irgendetwas bewertet hat, Ich habe den Verdacht, dass der Rum selbst nur bla war, und wurde dann hinzugefügt, wahrscheinlich, weil es nur junges Destillat war, wo immer es korrigiert werden musste. Die Marke scheint seit ihrer Einführung und den frühen Tagen des Halcyon ganz anders geworden zu sein, bevor Tobias es weitergab — und paradoxerweise, Der Marketingschub um all diese neuen Variationen macht mich Weniger eifrig vorwärts zu gehen, und viel neugieriger, einige der älteren zu probieren.

(#751)(82/100)


Sonstige Erläuterungen

  • Es gibt mehrere andere Daten für die Einstellung der Ration: Die neuseeländische Marine beseitigte die Praxis in 1990, die Royal Canadian Navy in 1972, Australien weit zurück in 1921, und die USA in 1862.
  • Einige andere Bewertungen des Gunpowder Proof stammen von Rumtastic, Drinkhacker, Wiederkäuen, gotrum Magazin, Rum Howler, Reddit und Reddit wieder). Keiner der anderen bekannten Rezensenten scheint darüber geschrieben zu haben.
  • Matt Pietreks Artikelserie über Navy Rums sind für jeden, der sich wirklich für alle Besonderheiten interessiert, eine Lektüre erforderlich, Anekdoten, Debunks und Details rund um diese beliebte, aber manchmal missverstandene Klasse von Rums.

  4 Antworten bis zur “Pussers britische Marine “Schießpulver Beweis” Zimmer – Rezension”

  1. I think that awesome, ace, wicked dude at Rumtasric reviewed this too 😀

    https://rumtastic.blog/2018/02/26/pussers-gunpowder-proof-black-label/

  2. The current bottlings I have state Guyana only and I feel this is the best bottling thus far. I’ve had the former Blue Label a number of times and the Bajan, Trini blend as well.

    I think the Guyana only bottling excellent and a very good value for what it is. Dick, viskos, aromas of creme caramel and wood. Underlying is all is a very pleasant dank oak note both on the aroma and palate. Those wood column stills at Demerara Distillers come through, granted they are only part of the vatting.

    This Rum works great as a sipper and cocktails too, a Rum Old Fashioned, even a Muddy Mojjito.

    As with all high ABV spirits, I prefer to decant about 1/3rd of the bottle off into another vessel and thus letting it oxidise slowly with the cork on for 5 bis zur 9 Tage. This adds far better balance both to the nose and palate rather than ripping the seal-off and popping the cork, which I recommend to do for the sake of comparison. Genießen.

 Lassen Sie eine Antwort

Sie können diese verwenden HTML Tags und Attribute: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(erforderlich)

(erforderlich)

www.sexxxotoy.com

Aug 092020
 

Black Tot day came and went at the end of July with all the usual articles and reviews and happy pictures of people drinking their Navy Rum wannabes. Although it’s become more popular of late (a practice I’m sure rum-selling emporia are happy to encourage), I tend not to pay too much attention to it, since several other countries’ navies discontinued the practice on other days and in other years, so to me it’s just another date. And anyway, seriously, do I really need an excuse to try another rum? Hardly.  

However, with the recent release of yet another ‘Tot variant (the 50th Anniversary Rum from the Whisky Exchange) to add to the ever-growing stable of Navy Rums purporting to be the Real Thing (or said Real Thing’s legit inheritors) and all the excited discussions and “Look what I got!” posts usually attendant upon the date, let’s look at Pusser’s Gunpowder Proof which is an update of the older Blue Label rum, jacked up to a higher strength.  

Sorry to repeat what most probably already know by now, but the antecedents of the rum must be noted: the name derives from the (probably apocryphal but really interesting) story of how the navy tested for proof alcohol by checking it against whether it supported the combustion of a sample of gunpowder: the weakest strength that would do that was deemed 100 proof, and more accurate tests later showed this to be 57.15% ABV.  However, as Matt Pietrek has informed us, real navy rums were always issued at a few degrees less than that and the true Navy Strength is 54.5%.  Which this rum is, hence the subtitle of “Original Admiralty Strength”. Beyond that, there’s not much to go on (see below).

That provided, let’s get right into it then, nose forward.  It’s warm but indistinct, which is to say, it’s a blended melange of several things — molasses, coffee (like Dictador, in a way), flambeed bananas, creme brulee, caramel, cereals.  Some brown sugar, and nice spices like cinnamon, vanilla and ginger cookies.  Also a bit of muskiness and brine, vegetables and fruits starting to go bad, dark and not entirely unpleasant.

The blended nature of the flavours I smelled do not translate well onto the palate, unfortunately, and taste muffled, even muddled.  It’s warm to try and has is points – molasses, brown sugar, truffles, caramel, toffee – but secondary components (with water, say) are another story.  It’s more caramel and brown sugar, vanilla and nuts — and seems somehow overthick, tamped down in some fashion, nearly cloying…even messed with. Even the subtle notes of citrus, bitter chocolate, black tea, dates, and a bite of oakiness and tannins at the medium-long back end don’t entirely rescue this, though I’ll admit it’s decent enough, and some additional final faint hints of ginger and cumin aren’t half bad.

The problem is, I really don’t know what this thing really is. I’ve said it’s just the older Blue Label 42% made stronger, and these days the majority of the blend is supposedly Guyanese, with the label describing it as a “product of Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados”. But I dunno – do these tasting notes describe a bit of any Versailles, Port Mourant or Enmore profile you’ve had of late?  In fact, it reminds me more of a stronger DDL 12 or 15 year old, minus the licorice and pencil shavings, or some anonymous WIRD / Angostura combination . Because the blend changed over time and there’s no identifying date on the bottle, it’s hard to know what the assembly is, and for me to parrot “Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados” is hardly Pulitzer-prize winning research. And, annoyingly, there is also no age statement on the black label, and no distillation information at all — even Pusser’s own website doesn’t tell you anything about that. Seriously?  We have to be satisfied with just this?  

Hydrometer test result courtesy of TheFatRumPirate.com

Anyway, let’s wrap up with the opinion on how it presents: short version, it’s a good ‘nuff rum and you’ll like it in either a mix or by itself. I was more or less okay with its discombobulated panoply of tastes, and the strength worked well.  Still, I found it oddly dry, even thin at times (for all the sweet and thick background), and given that Wes rated it at 7g/L of something-or-other, I have a suspicion that the rum itself was merely blah, and has then been added to, probably because it was just young  distillate from wherever that needed correction. The brand seems to have become quite different since its introduction and early halcyon days, before Tobias passed it on — and paradoxically, the marketing push around all these new variations makes me less eager to go forward, and much more curious to try some of the older ones.

(#751)(82/100)


Other Notes

  • There are several other dates for cessation of the rum ration: the New Zealand navy eliminated the practice in 1990, the Royal Canadian Navy in 1972, Australia way back in 1921, and the USA in 1862. 
  • Some other reviews of the Gunpowder Proof are from Rumtastic, Drinkhacker, Ruminations, GotRum magazine, Rum Howler, Reddit and Reddit again). None of the other well-known reviewers seem to have written about it.
  • Matt Pietrek’s series of articles on Navy rums are required reading for anyone really interested in all the peculiarities, anecdotes, debunks and details surrounding this popular but sometimes misunderstood class of rums.

  4 Responses to “Pusser’s British Navy “Gunpowder Proof” Rum – Review”

  1. I think that awesome, ace, wicked dude at Rumtasric reviewed this too 😀

    https://rumtastic.blog/2018/02/26/pussers-gunpowder-proof-black-label/

  2. The current bottlings I have state Guyana only and I feel this is the best bottling thus far. I’ve had the former Blue Label a number of times and the Bajan, Trini blend as well.

    I think the Guyana only bottling excellent and a very good value for what it is. Thick, viscous, aromas of creme caramel and wood. Underlying is all is a very pleasant dank oak note both on the aroma and palate. Those wood column stills at Demerara Distillers come through, granted they are only part of the vatting.

    This Rum works great as a sipper and cocktails too, a Rum Old Fashioned, even a Muddy Mojjito.

    As with all high ABV spirits, I prefer to decant about 1/3rd of the bottle off into another vessel and thus letting it oxidise slowly with the cork on for 5 to 9 days. This adds far better balance both to the nose and palate rather than ripping the seal-off and popping the cork, which I recommend to do for the sake of comparison. Enjoy.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

www.sexxxotoy.com