Jan 312019
 

Il y a plus de quatre ans que j'ai écrit au sujet de la Rhum Vieux Millésimé 1998 10 YO fait par Dzama et a conclu que j'été assez content de voir ce que la marque avait dans le Larder. Il a fallu beaucoup de temps pour moi de faire bien sur ce désir, Nous avons donc ici quelque chose de plus bas sur le poteau de totem de la même entreprise, et je pensais que c'était un bon effort, pour toute sa jeunesse et malgré des questions qu'il a posées niggly.

Rafraîchissons la mémoire d'abord: pour les personnes à mobilité géographique, Madagascar est cette immense île au large de la côte sud-est de l'Afrique; et les rhums Dzama sont faites par Vidzar, formé dans 1980 grâce aux efforts de M.. Lucien Fohine, qui a noté que la petite usine de sucre sur la petite île de Nosy Be a produit un distillat qui avait des arômes distinctifs qui persistaient dans les produits distillés finaux ... principalement rhum bas niveau pour la consommation locale, à ce point. Il a conclu qu'il est venu de l'usine ylang-ylang (aussi connu comme l'usine d'huile de macassar, ou l'arbre de parfum) dont les racines entremêlées avec celui de la canne.

Il a formé une société Vidzar (une contraction de Vieux Rhum de Dzamandzar), qui s'occupait à l'embouteillage du whisky. Il est situé à proximité des champs de canne à sucre de Nosy Be, près du village appelé Dzamadzar, mais quelques années plus tard, que leurs opérations élargies, ils ont transféré la production à Antananarivo (la capitale, dans le centre de l'île) L'entreprise, qui revendique maintenant la majorité des parts de marché du rhum à Madagascar, fait une gamme de rhums, y compris le club Dzama, 3 YO et 6 YO, the Millésimé 1998 10 Ans, Dzama 15 et 25 année vieux rhums et une Cuvée Noire. La plupart d'entre eux sont prévenus par la grande majorité des buveurs de rhum, et encore très peu connus, bien que beaucoup ont gagné des prix entre 2010 et 2015, Dans Miami, Paris, Berlin et Madrid.

Tout cela étant dit, il n'y a pas grand-chose sur le site Web de l'entreprise sur les détails techniques relatives à la 3 ans nous examinons aujourd'hui. Il est une colonne encore du rhum, unadded à-, vieilli en fûts de chêne, et mon échantillon cadencé à 52%, qui je pense est une force incroyable pour un rhum si jeune – la plupart des producteurs ont tendance à coller avec le essayé et vrai 40-43% (à des fins fiscales et d'exportation) lors du démarrage, mais pas ces gars-là.

Maintenant, la théorie est que les huiles et les parfums des différentes plantes se trouvent à Madagascar (vanille, clous de girofle, poivre sont souvent cités) lessiver de leurs racines dans le sol et sont entremêlées avec les systèmes de racines des plantes de canne, dans leurs tiges, et de là au distillat final. Je ne suis pas chimiste ou un botaniste, mais on pourrait tout aussi bien se demander pourquoi des processus similaires ne sont pas observés sur l'île aux épices (Grenade) par exemple, donc je réserve un jugement sur ce point.

Quoi qu'il en soit, le nez est tranquillement riche pour un rhum vieilli trois ans à peine – pas Velier-Demerara-go-for-the-laiton anneau riche, un peu plus que l'on pourrait attendre d'aller à. Ce nez a été initialement odorant de fromage feta crémeux, saumure, olives rouges et notes de noix de cajou, et avait une belle ligne de bananes pourries et enroulant funk au sujet en arrière-plan qui a fourni un fondement de caractère réel. Il a également des arômes subtils d'oranges confites, poires et autres fruits de lumière, tout simplement pas assez de prendre en charge et en faire une bombe de fruits. Mais vers la fin il y avait un élément plus dominant de caramel au beurre, marc de café et de vanille que je pensais agréable mais surfait, d'autant plus qu'il a été livré avec une force réelle.

Bien qu'il vacillait sur le bord d'être trop chaud, il a présenté un solide si la boisson forte, un amalgame de sel et doux…et beaucoup de sucre brun et la vanille Il y avait des bananes, fraises, cerises, et une partie de cette tarte et la sensation crémeuse que vous obtenez d'un smoothie aux fruits sans sucre fabriqué à partir de, oh, mangues jaunes fermes et ananas. La vanille est restée, le café a disparu, et d'une manière amusante, Je pouvais goûter des petits pois doux. Une grande partie de la salure et nuttiness du nez a disparu, mais toujours perceptible, et il n'a pas déséquilibrer les aspects fruités. La finition est là elle a échoué, Je pensais – il était moyennement longue, un peu épicé, juste assez doux, avec des notes de clôture de fruits, vanille, caramel salé, copeaux de noix de coco, et un peu d'agrumes.

Bien, Que faire de ça? Le nez était correct, le palais était presque aussi bon, une boisson raisonnable, même par lui-même….surtout si vous aimez les notes d'épices. Est-ce que cela signifie épices naturelles ou d'autres ont été ajoutés? Ils disent non, et les tests densimètre ne montrent pas obscurcissement… mais je ne peux pas empêcher de se demander. Rhums ce jeunes ont tendance à être assez forte et de conserver des notes concurrentes qui ont vu à travers le palais, mieux dans les boissons mixtes que d'avoir soigné; le Dzama 3 YO était sippable et avait le bord adouci, et pour que cela se produise à cette force augmente le sourcil. Cependant, en l'absence de plus amples renseignements, Je vais laisser là pour l'instant comme une note pour ceux qui veulent savoir.

Cette première Dzama j'ai essayé, la 1998 10 YO, avait à première vue semblait un profil tout à fait standard, puis étendu à quelque chose d'assez intéressant et non conventionnel. Le 3 ans n'est pas à ce niveau. La vanille est une nuance trop dominante, et heureusement tout en ayant suffisamment d'autres éléments de goût là-bas pour aller au-delà, il reste finalement simple. Mais il est, Néanmoins, une bonne boisson pour ce qu'il dit qu'il est, et démontre qu'un rhum ne doit pas être la dernière Velier, Digne Parc ou de jus Foursquare, ou de certains de minuscule indépendante résultat, être un rhum la peine de vérifier.

(#594)(80/100)


Autres notes

Wes était beaucoup plus réprobateur du profil épicé dans sa revue. Il est son test densimètre j'ai parlé.

Novembre 262014
 

D3S_8929

Un rhum remarquablement bien équilibrée et savoureuse de l'océan Indien

(#189. 84/100)

***

En dépit de la croyance répandue que les rhums des Caraïbes sont, presque par définition, il est évident que de nombreux autres pays et régions les produisent. Au fil des années, je l'ai trouvé que le plus facilement identifiable et distinctif (Je ne dis pas «meilleur») produits, produits qui ont une saveur profil qui leur est propre, la grêle habituellement de quelque partie lointaine du monde où les conditions climatiques et pédologiques sont très éloignés de la norme: envisager, par exemple le Bundaberg, la Vieux-Port, ou encore la Tanduay. maintenant que, arômes sont parfois ajoutés au mélange avec l'insouciance de Emeril épices serrage…mais pas toujours. Parfois, il est juste le terroire.

Such a one is the Rhum Vieux Millésimé 1998 dix ans, fait et mis en bouteille à Madagascar à partir de canne et la mélasse cultivés localement, offert à 45% dans une bouteille qui est plutôt amusante enveloppé dans une feuille de bananier (ou un fac-similé raisonnable de celui-ci). Ceci est un rhum qui a remporté une médaille d'or au Concours international des vins et spiritueux en 2012, et est une belle pièce de travail.

Prenez pour commencer, le premier nez: cassonade, café et moka, emblée, très lisse et accueillante – 45% était une bonne résistance pour ce rhum. Je regardais l'étiquetage à nouveau avec une certaine surprise – Etait-ce un rhum épicé et ils ont oublié de mentionner? Nan. Qu'est-ce que vous avez obtenu était-il. Elle a été suivie par la vanille, clous de girofle, muscade et un fond doux de bananes, tous très peu agressive et facile à vivre. Il y avait même quelques notes végétales vague là après un peu, presque imperceptible.

La bouche a éclaté peu nouveau terrain, tout simplement construit sur cet excellent lead-in: plus la vanille (pas assez pour me faire des doutes sur aromatisant, pourtant je ne pouvais pas rejeter la pensée entièrement), café, sucre brûlé, nougat. bananes douces frites (Je ai aimé ceux comme un gosse), noix, pêches. Ce rhum était belle, tout simplement charmant – doux et chaud et exactement assez fort pour ce qu'il était – une preuve plus élevé aurait fait trop épicé. Il y avait même, au bout de quelques minutes et une goutte d'eau, cuir et le doux parfum des cigarillos aromatiques. Quelques noix moulues complètent le profil. La finition était étonnamment courte, mais encore que la chaleur a persisté, et des notes de poivre blanc fermeture, fumer et ces noix nouveau.

Ces notes de dégustation sonnent tout à fait classique, ne le font pas, ils? Pourtant, ils ne sont pas, pas vraiment – l'équilibre des notes végétales et la vanille et les noix et la douceur de bananes popping dans l'huile ne est pas du tout comme les rhums des Caraïbes avec lequel beaucoup d'entre nous sont familiers; Je imagine que certains de ce profil de goût provient des barils Pernod Ricard expédiés à Madagascar pour vieillir ce rhum les dix années requises; mais peut-être égale crédit provient de la canne elle-même et l'environnement dans lequel il est fait.

Dzama rhum est faite par Vidzar, une de ces sociétés locales comme Banks DIH en Guyane, ou de la Cour de Clarke à la Grenade, qui ont une visibilité un peu plus grande dans leur pays d'origine que ce qu'ils font à l'étranger (cela pourrait changer car ils élargir leurs marchés). La société a été créée en 1982 grâce aux efforts de M.. Lucien Fohine, qui a noté que la petite usine de sucre sur la petite île de Nosy Be produit un distillat qui avait saveurs distinctives qui ont persisté dans les produits finaux distillées…la plupart à faible niveau de rhum pour la consommation locale, à ce point. Après quelques recherches, at-il conclu, il est venu de l'usine d'ylang-ylang (aussi connu comme l'usine d'huile de macassar, ou l'arbre de parfum) dont les racines entremêlées avec celui de la canne. (Si ce rhum est un exemple de la survivance de la saveur, il peut être à quelque chose, si je suis ambivalente sur la science derrière ce que).

Dans une tentative pour distiller un rhum décent pour élever l'art de son île, il a formé une société Vidzar (une contraction de Vieux Rhum de Dzamandzar), à proximité du sucre champs de canne situées de Nosy Be, par un village appelé Dzamadzar. La société fabrique une gamme de rhums à vendre, y compris le club Dzama, 3 YO et 6 YO, Le Dzama XV 15 vieille année et Cuvée Noire (prévenus par moi) et commence à vendre sur le marché européen. Cette vieille notamment de dix ans a été vieilli dans les barils susmentionnés Pernod Ricard et a été distillé dans 1998 mais la date elle-même est juste un marqueur, pas une commémoration de quelque chose de spécial (l'ancien actuelle de dix ans sur le site de l'entreprise est le 2000 Millésimé) – Je vais hasarder une hypothèse que ce était une série de barils mis de côté par le master blender comme étant simplement de meilleure qualité.

Je ai remarqué avant que l'un rhum ne se enfonce pas une marque, ou définir – mais je dois être honnête et dire que une mauvaise tendance à me faire méfiants au sujet avec les autres dans la gamme, alors qu'à l'inverse, un bon me rend enthousiaste de le faire – ce est la nature humaine. Avec cet excellent rhum originaire d'une région que je ne l'ai pas essayé avant, dont le profil se distingue remarquablement et loin d'être désagréable, Je suis assez content de voir ce que Dzama a dans le garde-manger la prochaine fois que je ai la chance d'en acheter un. Vous pourriez faire pire que d'essayer un peu vous-même…et celui-ci serait un excellent endroit pour commencer.

***

 

 

www.sexxxotoy.com

Jan 042021
 

The Dzama 6 year old rum from the island of Madagascar sits between the modest 3 and 5 year old rums, rubs shoulders with an 8 YO, and looks up to the more exclusive 10 YO and 15 YO expressions; the company has been busy expanding the range since I first tried their 3 year old back in 2014. Unsurprisingly, the local market share of the company’s spirits is a massive 60% or so – they make a bit of everything alcoholic and are a very diversified drinks conglomerate – their prime market remains Madagascar itself with exports to Europe, some states of the USA and Canada. That said, it has never quite caught on with the rum drinking crowd the way the rhums of the French Caribbean islands, or Mauritius or Reunion have. 

That might result from the appearance of vanilla and other spices in the flavour profile, though the makers deny any additives on any but the clearly marked spiced variations of the line (like the Vanilla). Company founding legends state that the original genesis of the cane was in the small northwestern island of Nosy-be where supposedly the oils and perfumes of the various botanicals to be found there (vanilla, cloves, pepper are often cited) leach from their roots into the soil and are intermixed with the cane plants’ own root systems, into their stems, and thence to the ultimate distillate. I’m no chemist or botanist, but one could just as easily wonder why similar processes aren’t observed on the spice island (Grenada) for example.

That spiced profile was evident on the 3 year old and I marked it down for that (as did the Fat Rum Pirate when he looked at it some time later), thinking it too dominant.  It’s much less evident here, and in fact, this was almost a completely different rum.  It smelled of rubber, varnish and acetones, and was quite light at 45% ABV.  It had aromas of rotten bananas, fleshy fruits, and going-off apricots, mangoes and pears. That admittedly sounds rather off-putting (I assure you it really isn’t), and what quite a few people hate about such rums, we reviewers like to call it “pleasant” and “character-filled.” In fairness, I remember thinking it reminded me of a low rent Jamaican, but lacking their complete unconcern for the funk you were getting – it was, perhaps, more well-behaved.

The palate was thick, rich and sweet, even in comparison the the 3YO which showed no modesty with such aspects itself but while stronger, had also been paradoxically easier.  Here we were regaled with bananas, cherries in syrup, brown sugar, and a sort of smorgasbord of fruitiness – some tart, some just soft and mushy – and creaminess of greek yogurt sprinkled with cinnamon and cloves. Disappointingly, the finish did nothing much except lock the door and walk off, throwing a few notes of cloves, sugar, cherries, peaches and syrup behind.  Not a stellar finish after the intriguing beginning.

Whether Lucien Fohine — who founded the Vidzar, the owning company in 1980 — was right about the way local plants’ aromas came into the final distillate, or whether they catered to local palates by goosing the juice a tad, the fact is that the rum is a bit too sweet and a bit too overdone, like a nouveaux riche showing off new furs and new bling. It’s not precisely overkill, more like a loud drunk regaling a joint with loud and boring sports stories you’re not interested in – it’s distracting, even off-putting and makes the enjoyment less.

That said, it’s not precisely a bad rum either. It’s a bit like a Bacardi Gold mixing it up with a Diplo Res Ex, or some other such tasty workhorse that can be used for a number of different purposes, even a neat sip – the relatively low strength and the aforementioned tastes help there.  But for someone who knows his rums it’s a bit of a let down, and while it’s certainly pleasant as it is — cocktail gurus and professional mixologists could probably find good things to do with it —  I think I’d rather spring for the upscale aged versions that have more character and less of those distracting flavours.

(#791)(82/100)


Other Notes

Jan 312019
 

More than four years ago I wrote about the Rhum Vieux Millésimé 1998 10 YO made by Dzama and concluded that I was pretty stoked to see what else the brand had in the larder.  It’s taken a long time for me to make good on that desire, so here we have something lower down on the totem pole from the same company, and I thought it was a good effort, for all its youth and in spite of the niggly questions it raised.

Let’s refresh the memory first: for the geographically challenged, Madagascar is that huge island off the south east coast of Africa; and the Dzama rums are made by Vidzar, formed in 1980 due to the efforts of Mr. Lucien Fohine, who noted that the small sugar factory on the tiny island of Nosy Be produced a distillate that had distinctive flavours which persisted into the final distilled products…mostly low level rum for local consumption, to that point. He concluded it came from the ylang-ylang plant (also known as the macassar oil plant, or the perfume tree) whose roots intermingled with that of the cane.

He formed a company Vidzar (a contraction of Vieux Rhum de Dzamandzar), which initially concerned itself with whisky bottling. It was located close to the sugar cane fields of Nosy Be, near to a village called Dzamadzar, but a few years later, as their operations expanded, they transferred production to Antananarivo (the capital, in the center of the island) The company, which now claims a majority of rum market share in Madagascar, makes a range of rums, including the Dzama Club, 3 YO and 6 YO, the Millésimé 1998 10 Year Old, Dzama 15 and 25 year old rums and a Cuvée Noire. Most of these are untried by the vast majority of rum drinkers, and remain relatively unknown, though many have won prizes between 2010 and 2015, in Miami, Paris, Berlin and Madrid.

All that said, there isn’t much on the company website about the technical details regarding the 3 year old we’re looking at today. It’s a column still rum, unadded-to, aged in oak barrels, and my sample clocked in at 52%, which I think is an amazing strength for a rum so young – most producers tend to stick with the tried-and-true 40-43% (for tax and export purposes) when starting out, but not these guys.

Now, the theory is that the oils and perfumes of the various botanicals to be found on Madagascar (vanilla, cloves, pepper are often cited) leach from their roots into the soil and are intermixed with the cane plants’ own root systems, into their stems, and thence to the ultimate distillate. I’m no chemist or botanist, but one could just as easily wonder why similar processes aren’t observed on the spice island (Grenada) for example, so I reserve judgement on that score.  

Be that as it may, the nose is quietly rich for a rum aged a mere three years – not Velier-Demerara-go-for-the-brass-ring rich, just more than one would expect going in. This nose was initially redolent of creamy feta cheese, brine, red olives and cashew notes, and had a nice line of rotting bananas and funk coiling about in the background which provided an underpinning of real character.  It also gave off subtler aromas of candied oranges, pears and other light fruits, just not enough to take over and make it a fruit bomb. But towards the end there was a more dominant element of toffee, coffee grounds and vanilla which I thought pleasant but overdone, especially since it was delivered with some real force.

Though it teetered right on the edge of being too hot, it presented a solid if sharp drink, an amalgam of salt and sweet…and a lot of brown sugar and vanilla  There were bananas, strawberries, cherries, and some of that tart and creamy sensation you get from an unsweetened fruit smoothie made from, oh, firm yellow mangoes and pineapple.  The vanilla remained, the coffee disappeared, and amusingly, I could actually taste sweet green peas. Much of the saltiness and nuttiness of the nose was gone, though still noticeable, and it did not unbalance the fruity aspects.  The finish was where it failed, I thought – it was medium long, somewhat spicy, just rather mild, with closing notes of fruits, vanilla, salted caramel, coconut shavings, and a little citrus.

Well, what to make of this? The nose was decent, the palate was nearly as good, a reasonable drink even by itself….particularly if you like the hints of spices. Does that mean natural or other spices have been added?  They say no, and hydrometer tests show no obscuration… but I can’t help but wonder.  Rums this young tend to be rather sharp and retain competing notes that saw across the palate, better off in mixed drinks than to have neat; the Dzama 3 YO was sippable and had the edge toned down, and for that to happen at that strength raises the eyebrow.  However, in the absence of more information, I’ll leave it there for now as a note for those who want to know.

That first Dzama I tried, the 1998 10 YO, had what at first sight seemed like an utterly standard profile that then expanded into something quite unconventional and interesting. The 3 year old is not on that level. The vanilla is a shade too dominant, and while fortunately having enough other taste elements in there to move beyond that, it remains ultimately straightforward.  But it is, nevertheless, a good drink for what it says it is, and demonstrates that a rum doesn’t have to be the latest Velier, Worthy Park or Foursquare juice, or from some independent’s minuscule outturn, to be a rum worth checking out.

(#594)(80/100)


Other Notes

Wes was much more disapproving of the spiced profile in his review.  It’s his hydrometer test I referenced.

Nov 262014
 

D3S_8929

A remarkably well balanced and tasty rum from the Indian Ocean

In spite of the prevailing belief that rums are Caribbean almost by definition, it’s axiomatic that many other nations and regions produce them.  Over the years I’ve found that the most readily identifiable and distinctive (I don’t say “best”) products, products that have a flavour profile all their own, usually hail from some distant part of the world where climatic and soil conditions are far removed from the norm: consider, for example the Bundaberg, the Old Port, or even the Tanduay.  Now sure, flavourings are sometimes added to the mix with the heedlessness of Emeril chucking spices…but not always.  Sometimes it’s just the terroire.

Such a one is the Rhum Vieux Millésimé 1998 ten year old, made and bottled in Madagascar from locally grown cane and molasses, offered at 45% in a bottle that is rather amusingly wrapped in a banana leaf (or a reasonable facsimile thereof).  This is a rhum that won a gold medal at the International Wine and Spirits Competition in 2012, and is one lovely piece of work.

Take for starters, the initial nose: brown sugar, coffee and mocha, straight off, very smooth and inviting – 45% was a good strength for this rum.  I looked at the labelling again with some surprise – was this a spiced rum and they forgot to mention it?  Nope.  What you got was it. It was followed by vanilla, cloves, nutmeg and a soft background of bananas, all quite unaggressive and easygoing.  There was even some vague vegetal note there after a bit, almost imperceptible.

The palate broke little new ground, simply built on that excellent lead-in: more vanilla (not enough to make me suspicious about flavouring, yet I couldn’t dismiss the thought entirely), coffee, burnt sugar, nougat.  Fried sweet bananas (I loved those as a kid), nuts, peaches.  This rum was lovely, just lovely – soft and warm and exactly strong enough for what it was – a higher proof might have made it too spicy.  There was even, after a few minutes and a drop of water, leather and the sweet perfume of aromatic cigarillos.  Some ground walnuts rounded out the profile.  The finish was surprisingly short, yet still that warmth persisted, and closing notes of white pepper, smoke and those walnuts again.

These tasting notes sound utterly conventional, don’t they? Yet they’re not, not really – the balance of the vegetal notes and vanilla and nuts and sweetness of bananas popping in oil is not at all like the Caribbean rums with which many of us are familiar; I imagine some of this taste profile comes from the Pernod Ricard barrels shipped to Madagascar to age this rum the requisite ten years; but perhaps equal credit comes from the cane itself and the environment in which it is made.

Dzama rum is made by Vidzar, one of those local companies like Banks DIH in Guyana, or Clarke’s Court in Grenada, which have a rather larger visibility in their home country than they do abroad (this may change as they expand their markets). The company was formed in 1982 due to the efforts of Mr. Lucien Fohine, who noted that the small sugar factory on the tiny island of Nosy Be produced a distillate that had distinctive flavours which persisted into the final distilled products…mostly low level rum for local consumption, to that point. After some investigation, he concluded it came from the ylang-ylang plant (also known as the macassar oil plant, or the perfume tree) whose roots intermingled with that of the cane. (If this rum is an example of the flavour holdover, he may be on to something, though I’m ambivalent about the science behind that).

In an attempt to distill a decent rum to elevate the craft of his island, he formed a company Vidzar (a contraction of Vieux Rhum de Dzamandzar), located close to the sugar cane fields of Nosy Be, by a village called Dzamadzar. The company makes a range of rums for sale, including the Dzama Club, 3 YO and 6 YO, the Dzama XV 15 year old and Cuvée Noire (untried by me) and is starting to sell in the European market. This particular ten year old was aged in the aforementioned Pernod Ricard barrels and was distilled in 1998 but the date itself is just a marker, not a commemoration of anything special (the current ten year old on the company site is the 2000 Millésimé) – I’ll hazard a guess that it was a series of barrels set aside by the master blender as simply being of higher quality.

I’ve remarked before that one rum does not sink a brand, or define it – yet I have to be honest and say that a bad one tends to make me leery about approaching others in the range, while conversely, a good one makes me enthusiastic to do so – that’s human nature.  With this excellent rum hailing from a region I’ve not tried before, whose profile is remarkably distinctive and far from unpleasant, I’m pretty stoked to see what else Dzama has in the larder the next time I get a chance to buy one.  You could do worse than trying some yourself…and this one would be an excellent place to start.

(#189. 84/100)