Mai 292018
 

#517

Das Schreiben über die Milroy Jamaican 26 jahre alt, Ich eher bemerkte säuerlich, dass es absolut nichts war die Herkunft des Rum zu gehen in Bezug auf. Kein solches Problem plagt die 1988 Ausgabe des El Dorado 25 jährige Rum, das ist einer der bekanntesten Prämien aller Zeiten. Auch erhöhte Konkurrenz von anderen Karibik (oder unabhängig) Macher hat wenig zu langweilig getan seinen Glanz….außer unter den Kennern, die ihre glencairns nicht gründlich mit ihm würde.

Welche, für die Uneingeweihten, scheint etwas extreme. Schließlich, nur Blick auf die Statistiken: in Flaschen abgefüllt 43%, und es ist eine wahre 25 jährige Rum – niemand hat jemals eine Delle in DDL Alten Aussagen setzte – durch eine der bekanntesten Marken in der rumiverse gemacht, unter Verwendung der in der Nähe Legende Standbildern in einer Anordnung meisterhaft: verschiedene Quellen beachten Sie, dass die marques von EHP (Holz Coffey), PM (Doppelholz Topfdestille), EIN (Französisch Savalle Noch) sind alle Teile der Mischung, und während es eine gewisse Variation von Charge zu Charge, insgesamt bleibt der Rum bemerkenswert konsistent.

Also, was ist das Problem? Bien Sur, inzwischen, jeder, der über DDL El Dorado Rum gelesen hat, ist – oder sollte es sein – bewusst, dass sie Dosierung üben. Das ist, der Zusatz von Karamell-Sirup oder Zucker oder was auch immer, um sie zu glätten und machen es sippable, eleganter, rundere. Das ist natürlich nie anerkannt oder auf dem Etikett zu vermerken, und es dauerte private Aräometers Tests, um festzustellen, dass die El Dorado 25 YO 1980 Version um 50 g / l Verfälschungs hatte, und das El Dorado 25 YO 1986 um herum 39 g / L (Ich habe keine Angaben auf der 1988). Diese Zusätze sicherlich tun ihre Pflicht bewundernswert – der Rum ist glatt, ruhig, ein geiles Nachabendessen sip. Aber es gibt kein freies Mittagessen in dieser Welt, und der Preis, der für diese sippability bezahlt wird, ist ein gedämpftes Profil – ein dumpfes, verworren, verdorben, über gesüßte Durcheinander, das die Höhepunkte eines Rum verschleiert, dass alte.

es macht deutlich rechts von der Fledermaus nosing. Es ist leicht erhitzt, Fett und gerundet – fast dick aromatische. Die dämmrigen Noten von Anis und Karamell, Melasse, Kokos und Bananen sind offensichtlich, aber nur knapp. Mit einiger Mühe und Konzentration, die weintraube, können Aprikosen und Pflaumen erfasst werden…fast. Es fühlt sich abgemildert, und das ist nicht nur eine Funktion der relativ geringen Festigkeit, sondern auch die unterdrückende Natur der Dosierung. Und auch auf der Nase ist die Süße selbstverständlich.

Dies führt zu einem Gaumen, das ist, bestenfalls, unbestimmt – im schlimmsten Fall ist es eine Farce, was für 25 Jahre sollen ein Rum im Alter sein. Ich verbrachte eine halbe Stunde dieser Rum in einem Versuch, nippen sie auseinander zu nehmen, eine bessere Verkostungsnotizen…und am Ende, alles kam ich mit war Vanille-up, Toffee, Melasse und Lakritz. Es gab einige weiße Schokolade und Kaffee Notizen. Vague Blumen. fleischige Früchte, sehr reife Orangen, schwach schwach schwach. Und darüber war die ganze Süße und Likör artige Natur des gesamten Geschmackserlebnisses, das einfach zu viel war. Was dies auch tat, war das Ziel praktisch nicht zu machen. Es wurde von einer Art süßlich syrupy-ness blattened flach, und kein subtiler Geschmack wirklich tauchte die Nähe eines erfreulichen zu bilden.

Wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass diese Überprüfung des ED-25 relativ moderat ist und gemäßigt – oder sogar fad – Du liegst richtig, so lassen Sie mich einige zusätzliche persönliche Daten zur Verfügung stellen: der Tag, als ich dieses Ding schmeckte ich war stinksauer damit innerhalb von 5 Minuten, und die ersten Notizen in meinem Buch begann „Oh für f ** k willen!!" Ich wollte einen R-rated Kommentar schreiben zu können. Ich wollte es mit Schimpfwörtern auszunehmen, die einen mudland porknocker erschaudern machen würde. Und schließlich, Ich hatte diese Bewertung viermal von Grund auf neu, damit meine enttäuscht Wut schreiben bluten zu viel in die Erzählung.

Und ich werde Ihnen sagen, warum ich so weg war sauer – weil ich weiß, gibt es unter der Haube dieses bewusst triple-locked supercar besser. Da können Sie die Qualität spüren, die Brillanz von dem, was hätte sein können, lauert unter dem dreck — aber gehalten weg von ihm durch eine freakin Wand von Additiven weder gefragt, noch wollte, aber was war es für notwendig erachtet zuzufügen. Weil ich Labba und getrunken Bachwasser gegessen und mehr will aus dem Land. Weil ich weiß, DDL tun können, und getan hat, besser. Es ist wie der kleine Caner auf einer Schule Test Dumping, weil er zu faul war, selbst zu studieren, obwohl er das Material von innen nach außen wußte. Und wie seine Ergebnisse, wenn er diesen Mist zieht, wurden sie gegeben werden, die ED-25 (1988) verdient nicht bewertet werden. Ich bin, dass erzürnt.

Also ich werde mich nicht mit diesem Rum punkten. Was ist der Punkt? Diejenigen, die einen fünfhundert Dollar hooch mit einer kühlen Präsentation und ausgezeichnetem Alter wollen sich nicht darum kümmern genug zu lesen, diese; diejenigen, die Dosierung und Verfälschungen in irgendeiner Form verachten springt nie die Münze, und die kenntnisreich Leute in der Mitte wissen, dass es besser ist, da draußen für weniger – manchmal sogar von El Dorado – und wird weder überrascht noch dankbar. Ich werde vorschlagen, wenn Sie eine glatte wollen, süß, gut im Alter von Rum und kann es kostenlos als Teil einer Verkostung oder ein Probe-Set erhalten, dann mit allen Mitteln, mach es. Wollen Sie Leute beeindrucken, die nichts über Rum kennen, hier ist ein wow ihre Socken aus. Andernfalls, schauen Sie sich woanders.

(Unscored)


Sonstige Erläuterungen

In den Tagen nach wurde dieser Beitrag auf FB geteilt, es wurde eine beachtliche Menge an Traktion im Kommentarbereich, besonders in Rum Club Canada und Das Ministerium für Rum. Die meisten stimmten, und andere waren, ich stelle mir vor, amüsiert von der Idee des Caner verliert sein Temperament.


  4 Antworten bis zur “El Dorado 25 Year Old Rum (1988) – Rezension”

  1. Hallo!

    Forgive the impertinence perhaps, but what changed between this review and your earlier one (link below) where you had only good things to say about this rum?

    I only ask because it seems like a huge difference of opinion from (I presume) the same reviewerI wasn’t sure if I was missing something.

    http://rumconnection.com/review-el-dorado-25/

  2. Ah! Scratch my last comment; have managed to locate the other posts where you explain this. Entschuldigung!

    • I’ll respond to your questionwhich is not impertinent in the leastbecause I think that such questioning deserves an answer, and serves a useful purpose. A reviewer should be able to defend even his older opinions and explain the reasoning.

      The short truth is simply that as I grew in experience, I understood more about additions and liked them less the more I came in contact with unadulterated (and stronger) Raum. When I wrote for Rum Connection in 2010 I was still at the beginning of my journey, and in all honesty should not have opined so grandiosely on a rum when I had tasted so relatively few (perhaps that was also why I did). Eight years later, when I wrote this review, my palate, experience and preferences had been quite changed by all the rums tried in the interim. And that was why I was both angry and dismissive, in dieser Bewertung.

  3. Spot on review, we recently put in on our bar as a break even bottle, it cost us about $750 Australian, a ridiculous price for a something so overly sweetened. I would choose an unsweetened $50 rum over this.

    As a side note, I love your reviews, and moreover the wonderful rums you get to taste. Danke!

 Lassen Sie eine Antwort

Sie können diese verwenden HTML Tags und Attribute: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(erforderlich)

(erforderlich)

www.sexxxotoy.com

May 292018
 

#517

Writing about the Milroy Jamaican 26 year old, I rather sourly remarked that there was absolutely nothing to go on regarding the provenance of the rum.  No such issue afflicts the 1988 edition of the El Dorado 25 year old rum, which is one of the most recognized premiums ever made. Even increased competition from  other Caribbean (or independent) makers has done little to dull its lustre….except among the cognoscenti, who wouldn’t rinse their glencairns with it.

Which, for the uninitiated, seems somewhat extreme.  After all, just look at the stats: bottled at 43%, and it’s a true 25 year old rum – nobody has ever put a dent in DDL’s age statements – made by one of the most famous brands in the rumiverse, using the near legendary stills in a masterful assembly: various sources note that the marques of EHP (wooden coffey), PM (double wooden pot still), AN (French Savalle Still) are all part of the blend, and while there is some variation from batch to batch, overall the rum remains remarkably consistent.

So what’s the issue? Well, by now, anyone who has read about DDL’s El Dorado rums is – or should be – aware that they practice dosing.  That is, the addition of caramel syrup or sugar or whatever, in order to smoothen it out and make it more sippable, more elegant, more rounded. This is of course never acknowledged or noted on the label, and it took private hydrometer tests to ascertain that the El Dorado 25 YO 1980 version had around 50g/L of adulterants, and the El Dorado 25 YO 1986 around 39 g/L (I don’t have specs on the 1988).  These additions certainly do their duty admirably – the rum is smooth, quiet, an awesome after-dinner sip. But there’s no free lunch in this world, and the price that is paid for that sippability is a muted profile – a muffled, muddled, addled, over-sweetened mess that obscures the high points of a rum that old.

Nosing it makes it clear right off the bat.  It’s slightly heated, fat and rounded – almost thickly aromatic. The dusky notes of anise and caramel, molasses, coconut and bananas are evident, but just barely. With some effort and concentration, raisins, apricots and prunes can be sensed…almost.  It feels toned down, and that’s not just a function of the relatively low strength, but also the suppressive nature of the dosage. And even on the nose the sweetness is self-evident.

This leads to a palate that is, at best, indeterminate – at worst it’s a travesty of what a rum aged for twenty five years should be. I spent half an hour sipping this rum in an attempt to take it apart, provide better tasting notes…and at the end, all I came up with was vanilla, toffee, molasses and licorice. There were some white chocolate and coffee notes.  Vague flowers. Fleshy fruits, very ripe oranges, faint faint faint. And over it all was the sweetness and liqueur-like nature of the whole tasting experience which was simply too much. What this also did was to make the finish practically nonexistent. It was blattened flat by a sort of cloying syrupy-ness, and no subtle tastes really emerged to make the close an enjoyable one.  

If you think that this review of the ED-25 is relatively moderate and temperate – or even bland – you’re quite right, so let me provide some extra personal details: the day I tasted this thing I was hopping mad with it inside of five minutes, and the very first notes in my book started out “Oh for f**k’s sake!!”  I wanted to write an R-rated review.  I wanted to eviscerate it with foul language that would make a Mudland porknocker cringe. And eventually, I had to write this review four times from scratch lest my disappointed fury bleed too much into the narrative.

And I’ll tell you why I was so pissed off – because I know there’s better under the hood of this deliberately triple-locked supercar. Because you can sense the quality, the brilliance of what could have been, lurking underneath the dreck — but are kept away from it by a freakin’ wall of additives neither asked for nor wanted, but which it was felt necessary to inflict. Because I’ve eaten labba and drunk creek water and want more out of the country.  Because I know DDL can do, and has done, better. It’s like the Little Caner dumping on a school test because he was too lazy to study even though he knew the material inside out. And like his results when he pulls this crap, were they to be given, the ED-25 (1988) doesn’t deserve to be rated. I’m that incensed.

So I’m not going to score this rum.  What’s the point? Those who want a five hundred dollar hooch with a cool presentation and excellent age won’t care enough to read this; those who despise dosage and adulteration in any form will never spring the coin, and the more knowledgeable folks in the middle know there’s better out there for less – sometimes even from El Dorado – and will be neither surprised nor appreciative. I’m going to suggest that if you want a smooth, sweet, well-aged rum and can get it for free as part of a tasting or a sample set, then by all means, go for it. Want to impress people who know nothing about rum, here’s one to wow their socks off. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

(Unscored)


Other notes

In the days after this post got shared on FB, it got a remarkable amount of traction in the comment section, especially in Rum Club Canada and The Ministry of Rum.  Most agreed, and others were, I imagine, amused by the idea of the Caner losing his temper.


 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)