Meer 302013
 

Corentyne Donner.

(#142. 90/100)

***

Vollen Beweis Rum – Ich mag diesen Begriff. Es gibt eine Wüste von Rum Stärken zwischen 46% und 75%, von denen die letztere ist, was häufig als Over bezeichnet (für mein Geld, alles über 50% qualifiziert). So zum "full-proof" verwenden scheint Recht zu Rums in diesem trockenen Ödland von Stärke zu unterscheiden. Sie sind in der Nähe, dass Rum jemals bekommen, meiner meinung, zu den Ausdrucksformen der Whiskys meine leider fehlgeleiteten Liquorite squad Ohnmacht über. Ich hänge um jene Scotch swilling Mälzer genug, um die gedämpften und zitternden Stimmen zu verstehen, die freigelegten und gesenkten Köpfen und die feuchten Augen bekommen sie beim Sprechen über "Glen Muddy 1993 Ausgabe 57% ", oder "Port Peathead Cask Strength Mitteilung 49 von 1975 60%" – hier ist eine der wenigen Rums ich gesehen habe, die solche Produkte Stärke für Stärke übereinstimmt, Stil für Design. Dies schreibe, Ich liebevoll vorstellen, die Maltmonster Schaudern und schüttelte den Kopf, murmelte insalubrious Veraltete unter seinem Atem in solchen Unverschämt….und ich lächle.

Das Albion 1994 Rum ist 17 Jahre alt, und bei einem bulligen Mann-Stärke abgefüllt 60.4%, dem die Verkostung führte ich eine ebenso nervös und exhilerating Geschäft gemacht. Auch die dunkle, Grübeln Flasche (etwas von einer dicken weißen Karton Gehäuse erleichtert), drohend über meine scheinbar wehrlosen Glas ragte – Ich glaube nicht, dass ich je hatte so einschüchternd eine Erfahrung, da die Longpond 9. Was kam aus dem Monolith war ein dunkler Bernstein, fast Mahagoni rum, und der erste Gedanke begeistert wie ich goß es aus wurde, "" S ** t, dies ist Grog!"

Das Albion wollte mir beweisen, dass seine ominösen Erscheinungsbild war kein Zufall,. Ein Dick noch scharfen, fruchtigen Duft sprang direkt aus dem Glas, bereit zu kämpfen, mit schwefligen Noten von verbranntem Gummi und sonnenwarmen Asphalt (remniscent der älteren Rum Nation Jamaican 25) machen sich sofort bekannt. Dann verlassen sie die Szene in Eile, um Platz für tiefe Gerüche von Oliven, die weintraube, schwarz (definitiv nicht rot) Trauben, ohne Schärfe beheizt, die wiederum zurückgegangen als das Glas eröffnet, auf subtilere Nuancen von Wein und scharfe tropische Früchte zeigen – Mango mit frisch geschnittenes gesäuert, kaum reife Papaya. Weißer Pfeffer und Melasse kämpfte für die letzte Stück der Nase, die übrig blieb. Eine solide, faszinierend und zäh Nase, erstaunlich warmen – für die Liebhaber, dies könnte den Schatten der The Golden 25 jahre alt 43% oder der 21 jahre alt, geschweige denn Rum Nation neu 1989 Demerara 23 45%.

 

Der Geschmack war so erstaunlich wie die Nase war. Vollmundig und tiefe, fettige und beheizt und ohne jeden Anflug von Bosheit in seiner Mordor inspirierte dunkle burn. Der Geschmack im Mund war schamlos aggressive, Verpackung so viele Steroide, dass es würde mich nicht wundern, wenn eines Tages würde er beschließen, aus der Flasche wachsen. Leicht salzig und trocken, es donnerte entlang wie ein Mack Truck von Geschmack – Preiselbeeren, Orangenschale, Zitronenschale, Meersalz (ja, ja wirklich), Melasse, Eiche, Rauch, weicher roter Guaven (nicht weiß), ein schwacher Hintergrund Sherry und Lakritz, gerade genug, um ohne zu behaupten, jede Art von Bizeps necken. Ja, es war stark, Ja, es war ein beefcake (Komm schon, 60.4%? natürlich war es) – und doch zu keinem Zeitpunkt habe ich das Gefühl, meine Sinne wurden geplündert, vergewaltigt oder ausgeraubt. Offen, es war eines der besten,, gemeinsten, haarigsten Aufnahmen von meiner Erfahrung, handlich verdunkelt die SMWS Longpond 9 jahre alt – es zeigte die phantasmagorical labial Einfluss einer Säure Reise. Und wie es sich für so ein mächtiges Getränk, das Ziel war episch – lange und dauerhafte und gerade aus in Flammen zurückgehalten, Vorlage eines lang anhaltenden Nachgeschmack von Lakritze, Zitronenschale und Eichen. Ich diente dies bis zu zwei dedizierten Mälzer, und Sie sollten gesehen haben, sie verlassen ihre vintage Springbanks ein paar zusätzliche Aufnahmen von meinem Baby zu versuchen, wehmütig zu fragen, wo in Calgary würde ich es gefunden.

Albion ist eine Zuckerplantage (und Dorf) in der Berbice Grafschaft im Osten von Guyana, einst von Bookers McConnell Besitz, und vielleicht noch mehr für seine Cricket Ground, wo berühmten internationalen und regionalen Übereinstimmungen haben über viele Jahrzehnte gespielt. Aus meiner Sicht ist es mehr bekannt für die einzigartigen Rum der Zucker, aber ich gestehe zu einem kleinen Bias auf diese Weise. Albion hatte einen Französisch Savalle noch was ich angenommen, dieses Produkt aus – aber Sie sehen,, obwohl der Box und Flasche auf einem Holz kontinuierliche noch beziehen, das kann nicht richtig sein, da gibt es kein Holz noch in Guyana mit Ausnahme derjenigen, die von Enmore Hagel, Port Mourant Gold Versailles (nur Uhr durchgehend), so kann es einige Klärung hier erforderlich sein. Aber ich habe meinen verweilenden Verdacht auch ohne dass…der Geschmack ist zu fett, Auch erinnert an ein PM rum, um für bare Münze genommen werden basierend auf nichts als Kennzeichnung. Dieser Rum wurde aus mehreren Fässern Ursprung in Albion vor der Konsolidierung übernommen. Jedoch, es wurde nicht von DDL gemacht, aber von einem italienischen / Schweizer Firma namens Velier (sicherlich ein zu beobachten) von Luca Gargano laufen. Bevor ich wusste, dass dies, Ich tatsächlich kontaktiert mein Vater und sagte ihm, um DDL höheren ups darüber reden, so beeindruckend war die Albion, und es fällt mir jetzt, dass vielleicht eine Entschuldigung ist, um.

Ich mag Demerara Rums besten Stil, mit Panamaer an zweiter Stelle. Doch auch innerhalb der guyanischen Zusammenhang gibt es Rums und dann gibt es Rums. DDL El Dorados insbesondere sind Superlative: Dunkelheit, schwer, vollmundig Bastarde, tiefe würzig und aromatisch zu einem Fehler. Doch bei dem Versuch, Marktanteil und eine breite Akzeptanz zu gewinnen – da sie – sie zu zaghaft scheuen Erteilung Rums von Wirkleistung. Velier die volle Beweis Linie versucht, dieses Defizit zu beheben, und ist sie überhaupt erfolgreich sein. Das Albion 1994 17 jährige Rauten die Kehle, Schnallen den Knien, und die Tränen in den Augen, als sie ihre Trompeten beefcake badassery zur Welt. Es kann einige Komfort fehlen und nicht zu Pawlow Gaumen weicher Anlage herablassen 40% Rums ... aber für diejenigen, die ein rohes, kraftvolle Erfahrung mit einem Geschmack, bekräftigt ihre Bälle, Diese kompromisslose, knurrenden Medizin ist genau das, was der Arzt verschrieben hat.

***

Nachtrag. Lands Mudlanders wird wissen, dass Albion näher am Berbice Fluss als dem Corentyne, und damit meine beiden Wort Zusammenfassung oben ist etwas irreführend mit strengen Bezug auf Geographie. Die Corentyne Küste vernünftiger umfasst Hafen Morant über Albion, das ist eigentlich East Berbice-Corentyne…in diesem Fall bitte ich den Leser auf mein Verweis auf Mittelholzer verstehen, und damit, warum ich den Begriff in einem solchen Kontext verwenden.

Aktualisierung, August 2015

Carl Kanto der DDL, in Antwort auf meine Frage über die Holz kontinuierliche noch Thema, sagte, dies: “Es gab einen Holz kontinuierliche noch in Albion. Die Art der Rum abhängig von den Betriebsparametern des noch. Es wurde vermutlich für eine effizientere Metall Coffey Stills verschrottet. Für Sie sicher, es ist nicht mehr vorhanden.” Ich kann nur sagt, ist, dass das ist ein Jammer.

Update Februar 2018

Dieser Rum, versucht, in 2012, meine erste Begegnung mit Velier markiert. Seitdem haben sie fortgefahren, ein unabhängiger Rum Ungetüm zu werden, während DDL, was ich gelobt so viel hier, wurde für seine Dosierung Praktiken wund, und während sie ausgestellt einig vollen Beweis Rum ihrer eigenen in 2016, scheinen nicht so ernst wie andere Rum Entscheidungsträger das Projekt genommen zu haben haben.


  5 Antworten bis zur “Velier Albion 1994 17 Year Old Voll Proof Old Demerara Rum – Rezension”

  1. Klingt wie ein gut gealterten stunner. Dieses ist definitiv auf meiner Liste, Dank dir. 😉

    I have some Veliers in my own collection and they are very good. Not all are open yet and none of them have been reviewed. I’m really happy to see that some of these bottlings are making their way over the atlantic to you guys.

    These rums are much way better then all of the officially bottlings from the distilleries. I think it is the market who demands the availability of lighter or younger spirits. There may be many more reasons out there, but this could be one. Keep up the great work Lance. 🙂

    • I look forward to getting more of these excellent spirits. The older versions from the seventies are almost impossible to get, but I’ll keep on hunting. Have fun with your own tasting, and let me know how they turn out for you.

  2. just received the Albion 1983 (46,4% / 25 Ich) at a pretty good price (less than 100€), cant wait to give a try 😉

  3. Velier rums are just amazing ; pretty expensive but if you split them it becomes just fine 🙂

    here are my last bottles :

    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.161754684006788.1073741829.129913580524232&type=1&notif_t=like

 Lassen Sie eine Antwort

Sie können diese verwenden HTML Tags und Attribute: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(erforderlich)

(erforderlich)

Mar 302013
 

Corentyne Thunder.

(#142. 90/100)

***

Full proof rums – I like that term. There’s a desert of rum strengths between 46% and 75%, the latter of which is what is often referred to as an overproof (for my money, anything over 50% qualifies). So to use “full-proof” seems right to distinguish rums in that arid wasteland of strength. They are the closest that rums will ever get, in my opinion, to the expressions of whiskies my sadly misguided Liquorite squaddies swoon over. I hang around those scotch swilling maltsters enough to understand the hushed and trembling voices, the bared and bowed heads and the misty eyes they get when speaking about “Glen Muddy 1993 Edition 57%”, or “Port Peathead Cask Strength Release 49 of 1975 60%” – here’s one of the few rums I’ve seen that matches such products strength for strength, style for style. Writing this, I fondly imagine the Maltmonster shuddering and shaking his head, muttering insalubrious deprecations under his breath at such insolence….and I smile.

The Albion 1994 rum is seventeen years old, and bottled at a beefy man-strength 60.4%, which made the tasting I conducted an equally nervous and exhilerating business. Even the dark, brooding bottle (somewhat relieved by a thick white cardboard enclosure), loomed menacingly over my seemingly defenceless glass – I don’t believe I’ve ever had so intimidating an experience since the Longpond 9. What came out of the monolith was a dark amber, almost mahogany rum, and the first delighted thought as I poured it out was, “”S**t, this is grog!”

The Albion wanted to prove to me that its ominous appearance was no accident. A thick-yet-sharp, fruity scent lunged right out of the glass, ready to fight, with sulphury notes of burning rubber and sun-warmed asphalt (remniscent of the older Rum Nation Jamaican 25) making themselves known right away. Then they exited the scene in a hurry, making way for deep odours of olives, raisins, black (definitely not red) grapes, heated without sharpness, which in their turn receded as the glass opened up, to reveal subtler hints of wine and sharp tropical fruits – mango leavened with freshly-cut, barely ripe papaya. White pepper and molasses fought for the last bit of nose that was left. A solid, fascinating and chewy nose, amazingly warm – for the aficionado, this might eclipse the el Dorado 25 year old 43% or the 21 year old, let alone Rum Nation’s new 1989 Demerara 23 45%.

 

The palate was as stunning as the nose had been. Full bodied and deep, oily and heated and without any hint of malice in its Mordor-inspired dark burn. The taste in the mouth was shamelessly aggressive, packing so many steroids that it wouldn’t surprise me if one day it would decide to grow out of the bottle. Slightly salty and dry, it thundered along like a mack truck of flavour – cranberries, orange peel, lemon zest, sea salt (yes, really), molasses, oak, smoke, softer red guavas (not white), a faint background of sherry and licorice, just enough to tease without asserting any kind of biceps. Yes it was strong, yes it was a beefcake (come on, 60.4%? of course it was) – and yet at no point did I feel my senses were being pillaged, raped or plundered. Frankly, it was one of the best, meanest, hairiest shots of my experience, handily eclipsing the SMWS Longpond 9 year old – it evinced the phantasmagorical labial clout of an acid trip. And as befits such a powerful drink, the finish was epic – long and lasting and just held back from bursting into flame, presenting a lingering aftertaste of licorice, lemon peel and oak. I served this up to two dedicated maltsters, and you should have seen them abandon their vintage Springbanks to try a few extra shots of my baby, wistfully asking where in Calgary I’d found it.

Albion is a sugar plantation (and village) in the Berbice county in the east of Guyana, once owned by Bookers McConnell, and perhaps more renowned for its cricket ground where famous international and regional matches have been played over many decades. From my perspective it’s more renowned for the unique rums of its sugar, but I confess to a small bias that way. Albion had a French Savalle still which I’m supposing made this product – but you see, although the box and bottle refer to a wooden continuous still, that can’t be right since there’s no wooden still in Guyana except those that hail from Enmore, Port Mourant or Versailles (with only PM being continuous), so there may be some clarification required here.  Yet I have my lingering suspicions even without that…the taste is too rich, too redolent of a PM rum, to be taken at face value based on nothing but labelling.  This rum was taken from several barrels originating at Albion prior to the consolidation. However, it was made not by DDL, but by an Italian/Swiss outfit called Velier (certainly one to watch) run by Luca Gargano. Before I knew this, I actually contacted my father and told him to talk to DDL’s higher ups about it, so impressive was the Albion, and it occurs to me now that perhaps an apology is in order.

I like Demerara-style rums best, with Panamanians a close second. Yet even within the Guyanese context there are rums and then there are rums. DDL’s El Dorados in particular are superlative: dark, heavy, full-bodied bastards, deep flavoured and aromatic to a fault. Yet in attempting to gain market share and widespread acceptance – as they have – they too timidly shy away from issuing rums of real power. Velier’s full proof line seeks to rectify this shortfall, and does it ever succeed. The Albion 1994 17 year old bashes the throat, buckles the knees, and brings tears to the eyes as it trumpets its beefcake badassery to the world. It may lack some creature comforts and doesn’t condescend to Pavlovian palates conditioned to softer 40% rums…but for those seeking a raw, powerful experience with a taste that reaffirms their cojones, this uncompromising, snarling medicine is just what the doctor ordered.

***

Addendum. Fellow Mudlanders will know that Albion is closer to the Berbice River than to the Corentyne, and therefore my two word summary above is somewhat misleading with strict reference to geography. The Corentyne coast more reasonably includes Port Morant than Albion, which is actually East Berbice-Corentyne…in this instance I ask the reader to understand my reference to Mittelholzer, and therefore why I would use the term in such a context.

Update, August 2015

Carl Kanto of DDL, in answer to my query about the wooden continuous still issue, said this: “There was a wooden continuous still at Albion. The type of rum depended on the operating parameters of the still. It was probably scrapped for more efficient metal Coffey stills. For sure it no longer exists.”  All I can says is that that’s a crying shame.

Update February 2018

This rum, tried in 2012, marked my first encounter with Velier.  Since then they have gone on to become an independent rum behemoth, while DDL, which I praised so much here, has been excoriated for its dosing practices, and while they issued some full proof rums of their own in 2016, don’t seem to have taken the project as seriously as other rum makers have.


  5 Responses to “Velier Albion 1994 17 Year Old Full Proof Old Demerara Rum – Review”

  1. Sounds like a well aged stunner. This one is definitely on my list, thanks to you. 😉

    I have some Veliers in my own collection and they are very good. Not all are open yet and none of them have been reviewed. I’m really happy to see that some of these bottlings are making their way over the atlantic to you guys.

    These rums are much way better then all of the officially bottlings from the distilleries. I think it is the market who demands the availability of lighter or younger spirits. There may be many more reasons out there, but this could be one. Keep up the great work Lance. 🙂

    • I look forward to getting more of these excellent spirits. The older versions from the seventies are almost impossible to get, but I’ll keep on hunting. Have fun with your own tasting, and let me know how they turn out for you.

  2. just received the Albion 1983 (46,4% / 25 yo) at a pretty good price (less than 100€), cant wait to give a try 😉

    • You are a lucky fellow: I envy you your ability to source these rums. I hope it is as good as I think it is.

  3. Velier rums are just amazing ; pretty expensive but if you split them it becomes just fine 🙂

    here are my last bottles :

    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.161754684006788.1073741829.129913580524232&type=1&notif_t=like

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)